For Immediate Release                                      
July 3, 2018


Canadian securities regulators publish annual report highlighting investor education campaigns and activities



Montreal – The Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) today published an annual activity report outlining its investor education and outreach efforts over the past year.
The CSA’s Investor Education Committee (IEC) and its members work to educate and protect Canadian investors through a variety of national and local initiatives.
“The IEC’s primary goal is to provide a credible and objective voice to help Canadians make better-informed financial decisions,” said Louis Morisset, CSA Chair and President and CEO of the Autorité des marchés financiers. “This report provides a great inside perspective into the work our membership has put toward achieving that goal, in each and every province and territory.”
The report highlights national investor education initiatives from 2017 to 2018, including the CSA’s multi-year campaign to warn investors about the dangers of binary options fraud. In the reporting year, the campaign achieved remarkable success, including a complete ban on binary options in Canada. The report also highlights the findings of the 2017 Investor Index study of Canadian investors and their habits, as well as many regional projects.

The report can be viewed on the CSA’s website at

The CSA, the council of the securities regulators of Canada’s provinces and territories, co-ordinates and harmonizes regulation for the Canadian capital markets.

- 30 -


For more information:

Kristen Rose  
Ontario Securities Commission

Hilary McMeekin
Alberta Securities Commission

Alison Walker
British Columbia Securities Commission

Sylvain Théberge  
Autorité des marchés financiers

Jason (Jay) Booth
Manitoba Securities Commission

Sara Wilson
Financial and Consumer Services
Commission, New Brunswick

David C. Harrison       
Nova Scotia Securities Commission

Steve Dowling
Office of the Superintendent of Securities

Craig Whalen
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Newfoundland and Labrador

Rhonda Horte
Office of the Yukon Superintendent of Securities

Jeff Mason
Nunavut Securities Office

Tom Hall
Office of the Superintendent of Securities
Northwest Territories

Shannon McMillan
Financial and Consumer Affairs
Authority of Saskatchewan